Member Spotlight: Leslie, Amy, & Kelly

CoWorkQC-190.jpg

Today we are highlighting ourselves, yay! The three of us are the ones behind CoworkQC, and honestly y’all, it’s a lot of fun. We asked ourselves the questions we ask our members for these Member Spotlight posts, and the answers are below!

Leslie Klipsch:

What do you do? I'm a founder and co-owner of COWORKQC, co-host a podcast called Mama Bear Dares, author of the book Mama Bear's Manifesto, and director of communications for an NGO working East Africa.
How long have you lived in the QC? 12 years
Fave place to get coffee/beer/food in the Quad Cities? So many favorites! Soi 2 (and 3!), Lemongrass, Mantra, Los Primos. Coffee is my lifeblood and I will never say no to Redband.
How do you like to spend your time when you aren't at CoworkQC?
I love hanging out with my family and friends, reading on my porch, and planning our next family adventure.

——————

Amy Sivertsen:

What do you do?
I'm a founder and owner of COWORKQC. I am also do finances and bookkeeping for non-profits, and am in the very early stages of launching a start-up.

How long have you lived in the QC?
I have lived in the QC for 14 years. I went to Jr High and High School in Bettendorf, attended Augustana College, and settled in Moline.

Fave place to get coffee/beer/food in the Quad Cities?
I make it a point to go around to as many local coffee shops as possible, but I end up mostly at our downtown Davenport businesses. My go-to restaurants are Lemongrass, La Rancherita 2, and Ruby's before the flood - can't wait for them to reopen!

How do you like to spend your time when you aren't at CoworkQC?
I spend a lot of time planning and executing epic road trips for my family, reading and learning about the world, and keeping up with small kids.

——————

Kelly Hancock:

What do you do?
I'm a graphic designer and run a custom wedding invitations business called Noted Design. I'm also a co-owner of COWORKQC, and I handle all the design & marketing stuff as well as coordinating the rotating artist gallery.

How long have you lived in the Quad Cities?
My husband and I moved here from Chicago in 2008. He's from Northern Idaho, and I grew up in Bloomington, Illinois.

Fave place to get coffee/beer/food in the Quad Cities?
As vegans, we frequent a few places regularly: Chipotle, Lemongrass, and Mantra. I love the cocktails at RAW and will drink coffee from anywhere as long as it's hot!

How do you like to spend your time when you aren't at CoworkQC?
My favorite thing to do is hang with friends while our kids keep each other occupied. But for "me time", I love to play tennis and ping pong and travel whenever possible.

Member Spotlight: Josh Kunde

Josh Kunde CoworkQC.JPG

After a two-year hiatus, we are starting the blog back up again at COWORKQC! Do people still read blogs in 2019? We aren’t sure, but either way we are going to kick this party off with some quick posts highlighting our truly remarkable members. First up, Josh Kunde:

What do you do? / Where is your work based?

I provide environmental consulting for Brownfield Environmental Engineering, and we are based out of Beloit, Wisconsin. Some of our services include remediation & redevelopment, engineering and construction, asbestos, lead, mold, environmental compliance, due diligence and site assessments, waste management and materials disposal, and health and safety, among others.

Where do you live? / How long have you lived in the QC?

I currently live in Davenport. I have lived here since October 2018. But I also lived here for a couple years back in 2009-2011 while attending St. Ambrose.

Fave place to get coffee/beer/food in the Quad Cities?

Armored Gardens and Five Cities Brewing for beer;
Wings from The Filling Station.

What is your super power or something you excel at?

The skillful art of fish-keeping. I have a couple freshwater, planted aquariums which I enjoy experimenting with and maintaining.

How do you like to spend your time when you aren't at CoworkQC?

I enjoy spending my summers on the golf course.

What are you looking forward to doing this summer in the QCA?

Spending more time outdoors either biking or kayaking and exploring new places.

Future professional dreams + goals?

Retired on a golf course. But really, someday I would like to do work with small scale renewable energy for homes and businesses.

Member Feature: The Legacy Project

After winning a three-month membership as part of our grand opening celebration, COWORKQC is now the official home to The Legacy Project. The brand new nonprofit has extended its membership and made themselves at home.

Coworking through Disaster

At COWORKQC, we have intentionally created a community of people who, as we like to say, “work alone, together.” This is obvious everyday as we observe people brainstorming, collaborating, walking down the street to grab lunch, hiring one another, and generally enjoying the workday together. This sense of kinship is evident on the most average day, but was even more so last Monday night when a disaster took place outside our space and literally flew right through our window.

Member Feature: Amy Sivertsen

Member Feature: Amy Sivertsen

My long-term goals include being able to look back and have few regrets on the path my life has taken, so I'm working to make sure I don't neglect pursuing something out of fear or what-if. I'd rather look back and say, "Oh...maybe I shouldn't have taken that job that one time," instead of saying, "Oh...I'm so sad we never decided to do that..."  Another long-term goal is to raise healthy, aware, well-rounded, and hard-working kids.